“Sleeping” Bare Skin on Steel Plate

Unfortunately, during that day prior to our mattresses being hauled out, I had removed my tee shirt.  When my bedding was removed, so was my tee shirt, leaving me in nothing by undershorts. Understand that the bunk beds were constructed of 1/4 inch steel plates into which were drilled numerous 1 inch holes for ventilation. Wearing only my briefs, lying with bare skin on the cold perforated steel plate proved impossible to sleep. While the days were hot, the nights were cold.

Leave a Reply

