Songs Sung by 1961 Freedom Riders in Parchman Penitentiary

This is a page of links to YouTube videos of versions of the songs we sang in the Maximum Security Unit of Mississippi’s Parchman Penitentiary.
I especially love those sung by the Freedom Singers, now Sweet Honey in the Rock, lead by Bernice Reagon.

It is a work in progress, so be patient.  If you know of versions more true to the spirit of singing in jail, let me know!

Gospel Plow   Gospel Plow 2

Keep Your Eyes on the Prize

This Little Light of Mine

We Shall not be Moved   We Shall not be Moved 2

Which Side Are You On?

Oh Freedom   Oh Freedom 2

I’m Gonna Sit at the Welcome Table

Oh Mary Don’t You Weep, Don’t You Mourn

Ain’t Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me Round     Ain’t Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me Round 2   Ain’t Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me Round 3

Come and Go With Me to That Land

Certainly, Certainly, Certainly Lord

We Are Soldiers in the Army

I’m On My Way to Freedom Land

I’m So Glad   I’m So Glad 2

Woke This Morning With My Mind, Staying On Freedom   Woke This Morning With My Mind, Staying On Freedom 2

This May Be the Last Time   This May Be the Last Time 2

Hold On

Wade in the Water   Wade in the Water 2

AMERICAN EXPERIENCE: Freedom Riders: The Music

Freedom Riders (PBS)

Oprah

PDF of Song Lyrics

 

Leave a Reply

