Trip from Jackson, Mississippi to Cincinnati, Ohio

Upon my release, I took the train from Jackson, Mississippi to Cincinnati, Ohio, a very tense ride especially while I was still in Mississippi. I was never more grateful to leave a state than when the train passed from Mississippi into Tennessee, but even then, I was in the South. When I arrived in Cincinnati, to my astonishment, there was a huge welcoming crowd of local civil rights people. Two hefty CORE members hoisted up me on their shoulders and carried me through the great hall of Union Terminal. Talk about culture shock!

Leave a Reply

